4.3.1 – How to Motivate my team to learn

How to Motivate my team to learn

In 1943, the US psychologist Abraham Maslow published a paper called “A Theory of Human Motivation” in which he said that people had five sets of needs, which come in a particular order.

As each level of needs is satisfied, the desire to fulfil the next set kicks in. Maslow’s hierarchy provides a model for how individuals are motivated to learn.

Without the lowest layer of the hierarchy met, individuals cannot reach the next level. Each level allows students the ability and motivation to increase learning.

Click on the links below to read about each level.


The final level of the hierarchy is the need to feel purpose-driven and fulfilled. This includes growth needs like our sense of morality, creativity, problem-solving ability and so on. If we can meet these needs, then we feel like we are doing what we were born to do!


This level of the hierarchy centres on our need to feel good about ourselves. This includes things like self-esteem, status, achievement, confidence. Our value within a social context holds motivational power. 

Love & Belonging:

This level of the hierarchy homes in on our need to feel loved and accepted. This includes things like romantic and platonic love, family, relationships etc. This is driven by a sense of ‘belonging’. It is difficult to conjure up motivation if we don’t feel like we belong. 


This level of the hierarchy focuses on our need for a safe environment. This includes things like our health, our employment status, our property and so on. When the safety of these assets is at risk, we tend to direct our efforts towards safeguarding the status quo.



A Theory of Human Motivation

Enter your email below to access our FREE taster courses

By submitting your email address, you confirm you would like to access the free WELL Training taster courses.

We will not pass on your email address to anyone else. Further details are available on our Privacy Policy - please click here to view the policy.